People choose to delete or remove someone, or a group of people from their Facebook Messenger chats for a number of reasons, and today, I’ll be showing you in three different ways, how to delete someone from your own Facebook Messenger chats, in just 2 min.
So you’re ready?
Well then, let’s begin. #enjoy.
- How to easily download Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, & WhatsApp videos using the Xender app on your phone.
- More guide on how to remove someone from Messenger: A step-by-step tutorial.
3 ways to delete or remove someone or people from your Messenger chats in 2022.
- By putting the person’s chat and contact in the Archives.
- By deleting your conversation with the person.
- By totally blocking the person entirely on Facebook and Messenger.
How to delete someone from Messenger by placing them in the archives
Points to note.
- This method does not really delete or block the person from your Facebook Messenger.
- Archived contacts are only temporarily removed or hidden from your Messenger chat list.
- Archived contacts can still send you messages.
- You can view an archived contact by searching for their usernames on the Messenger app.
- You should only do this when you don’t have intentions of completely blocking them off from your Facebook friend list or Messenger chats.
And here’s how to place a contact in your archives, using the Facebook Messenger app.
- On your Facebook Messenger app, simply locate a contact that you wish to place in the archives.
- Long-press on the person’s name and a list of options will be shown to you.
- From there, select “Archive“.
Once you do so, the person’s contact will be delisted from your Messenger chat list, awaiting the next time he/she chats you up, or you can simply get back to them by searching for their names on the Messenger app.
Once they send you a message or you send them one, their names will start showing back on your chat list.
Now you’ve seen the reason why I said it’s a temporary solution, right? And should only be done when you don’t have the intention of completely blocking them off from your friends’ list.
How to delete someone from Messenger, by deleting your conversation with the person
Points to note.
- Deleted conversations still do not mean that the person is completed restricted from sending you messages.
- Deleting a conversation simply means erasing your own copy of the conversation between you and the person.
- Deleting a conversation will also temporarily remove the person from your Messenger chat list until one of you starts up a new conversation again.
- You should only do this when you simply want to erase a chat or conversation history between you and a person, and not when you want to completely block them off from your Facebook profile.
And here’s how to delete an entire conversation between you and someone on the Facebook Messenger app.
- On your Facebook Messenger app, locate the contact or person you wish to be deleted.
- Long-press on the contact’s name, and once again, a list of options will be shown to you.
- Select “Delete” from the options, and that’s all.
Once you do this, and like I said, your own copy of the conversation between you and that person will be erased, and the person’s name will be delisted from your Messenger chat list until any one of you starts the chat again.
How to delete or remove someone from Messenger, by totally blocking & unfriending the person on Facebook
Points to note.
- This is what you should do when you’re sure and confident that you don’t ever want to talk or chat with that person ever again in your life.
- A blocked contact cannot send you messages on Messenger, neither can you too.
- A blocked contact will be unfriended from your Facebook friend list, and they won’t be able to add you back as a friend.
So, now that you’re confident that you don’t want to be friends with this person, and don’t ever want to chat with them again on Messenger, then the best thing to do is to unfriend and block them completely on Facebook
And to do that, here’s what you should do.
- On your Facebook Messenger app, locate the contact that you wish to be blocked.
- Long-press on the person’s name, and a list of options will be shown to you.
- From there, tap on “Block“, and two more options will be shown to you.
The first one that says “Block messages and calls” means only blocking from them sending you messages or calling you on the Messenger app, while the second one that says “Block on Facebook” means to completely block them on off on the entire Facebook platform.
- So, go ahead and select the one that suits you the most, and that is all.
- This person won’t be able to message you, call you, or even see your profile on Facebook (if you used the second option) until unblocked.
And that wraps it up for today on the different ways you can delete or remove someone from your Messenger chat list.
If you have any questions or contributions, kindly leave them in the comments section below, and if you find this post helpful, kindly give it a thumbs up by sharing it, and as always, I’ll see y’all tomorrow, #peace out.